(1) A person commits sexual abuse of a child if, under circumstances no amounting to rape of a child, object rape of a child, sodomy upon a child, or an attempt to commit any of these offenses, the actor touches the anus, buttocks, or genitalia of any child, the breast of a female childe younger than 14 years of age, or otherwise takes indecent liberties with a child, or causes a child to take indecent liberties with the actor or another with intent to cause substantial emotional or bodily pain to any person or with the intent to arouse or gratify the sexual desire of any person regardless of the sex of any participant,
(2) Sexual abuse is punishable as a second degree felony
In Utah “minor” is defined as a person who is 14 years of age or older, but younger than 16 years of age, at the time the sexual activity described in this section occurred.
A person commits sexual abuse of a minor if the person is seven years or more older than the minor and, under circumstances not amounting to rape, in violation of Section 76-5-402, object rape, in violation of Section 76-5-402.2, forcible sodomy, in violation of Section 76-5-403, aggravated sexual assault, in violation of Section 76-5-405, unlawful sexual activity with a minor, in violation of Section 76-5-401, or an attempt to commit any of those offenses, the person touches the anus, buttocks, or any part of the genitals of the minor, or touches the breast of a female minor, or otherwise takes indecent liberties with the minor, or causes a minor to take indecent liberties with the actor or another person, with the intent to cause substantial emotional or bodily pain to any person or with the intent to arouse or gratify the sexual desire of any person regardless of the sex of any participant.
(3) A violation of this section is a class A misdemeanor
Society in Utah upholds morals that urge people to protect children. This sounds great, but in cases of false child abuse allegations these morals take the importance of ‘innocent until proven guilty’ away from the defendant. These false allegations are becoming more prominent in divorce cases as power plays, and ways to gain full custody of children. Even if you are deemed innocent by a court of law, the simple fact that you were charged with something like child molestation or assault gives you a reputation. You may lose your job, be shunned by your social connections, not be allowed around your friends’ children, and perhaps be despised. If you ARE convicted you may have to register as a child sex offender for the entirety of you life!! Child Sexual Abuse has one of the highest conviction rates, therefore any charges filed against you must be taken very seriously. You must find a lawyer experience with sexual abuse charges especially those against children. You must find that qualified attorney quickly to prepare yourself in case police start questioning you (which you should not say anything unless your lawyer is present), and in case you are arrested. Remember anything you say to police can be used against you!