In Utah “minor” is defined as a person who is 14 years of age or older, but younger than 16 years of age, at the time the sexual activity described in this section occurred.
A person commits sexual abuse of a minor if the person is seven years or more older than the minor and, under circumstances not amounting to rape, in violation of Section 76-5-402, object rape, in violation of Section 76-5-402.2, forcible sodomy, in violation of Section 76-5-403, aggravated sexual assault, in violation of Section 76-5-405, unlawful sexual activity with a minor, in violation of Section 76-5-401, or an attempt to commit any of those offenses, the person touches the anus, buttocks, or any part of the genitals of the minor, or touches the breast of a female minor, or otherwise takes indecent liberties with the minor, or causes a minor to take indecent liberties with the actor or another person, with the intent to cause substantial emotional or bodily pain to any person or with the intent to arouse or gratify the sexual desire of any person regardless of the sex of any participant.
(3) A violation of this section is a class A misdemeanor
- Utah Definition of Sexual Battery
- Utah Legal Definition of Lewdness
- Utah Definition: Lewdness
- Utah’s Legal Definition of Voyeurism Offenses
- The Stages of an Utah Felony Sex Case (Rape, Aggravated Sexual Abuse, Possession of Child Porn or Enticing A Minor Over the Internet)
Tags: child sexual abuse